I burned out (again)

And here's how I navigated through it.

Hey reader,

I've finally had a couple of good weeks after dealing with burnout. My friend Charlie recently made a video on her YouTube channel sharing her own experience with burnout, which really got me thinking. So, I wanted to share my story with you in this newsletter. Shout out to my awesome friend Charlie!

First off, burnout isn't a new thing for me. I've felt it a few times during my career, especially when juggling a demanding design job with other stuff like content creation or freelance work. But this time around, it hit differently. It wasn't just work stress; it was a mix of everything – side projects, hobbies, mom duties, admin stuff, you name it.

Now that I'm on maternity leave, I finally have time for things I've been putting off for ages because of work. Learning Spanish, selling digital products, reading finance books, getting back into running – the list goes on! I've realised I'm not just the "creative type"; I'm more of the "curious type". I love diving into new things and they energise me like nothing else.

But how did I end up burnt out then? A few weeks ago, I went all-in with my business and hobbies, but it felt like all my efforts were going unnoticed. I wasn't seeing the results I wanted, and it got to a point where I just had to hit the pause button.

Luckily, this time I had some tools and strategies to help me bounce back. I learned the true meaning of resilience – the ability to bounce back from tough times. Whether it's starting a new job, losing one, or becoming a parent, resilience is key. It's about being disciplined, aware, and most importantly, adaptable.

So, how do you build resilience? Well, here are a few things I did: stay positive, take care of yourself, lean on your support system, work towards goals, and don't hesitate to ask for help when you need it. Using these as my guide, I managed to get back on track and feel positive and motivated again.

One big lesson I learned from this experience is that it's okay not to excel at everything. Effort doesn't always equal outcome, and that's okay. The important thing is to keep learning and growing… And have fun along the way!

I hope sharing this message makes you feel less alone if you've been through something similar. 🫶

What's new in the design world? 🌍 Let's explore!

I'm a designer who loves to make educational content. Find me on YouTube or Instagram for all things design and tech. Did you know? I offer 1-to-1 mentoring sessions for designers seeking new job opportunities or career guidance.

Join the conversation

or to participate.