Where is my focus directed?

And where it's lacking

Hey reader,

Life's been hectic lately, and finding time for this newsletter or anything laptop-related hasn’t been as easy as it used to. But here I am, writing one last newsletter before we wrap up the year.

Recently, I listed to an episode of the In Between podcast hosted by the fabulous Astrid Reyes and Alexis Teichmiller all about auditing our lives and habits to plan for the next year. They used a tool called the "Wheel of Life" which has sparked my enthusiasm to give it a try.

What is the Wheel of Life?

According to this article, the Wheel of Life is a way to take a good, hard look at each facet of your life, and rate its relative quality level, so you can uncover which areas need more attention than others. Consider each area like a spoke of a wheel: when one of the spokes is shorter than the others, it can throw the whole thing off balance. By getting this “helicopter” view of your life, you can identify where you are excelling and where there is room for improvement – to discover where the gaps are between where you are today and where you want to be.

So, let’s do it!

Family and friends 👭
Score: 9/10

This year, I put my friends and family at the top of my priorities. Weekends were dedicated to quality time with friends, and I had the joy of visiting my family in Italy multiple times. Grateful for the incredible community I've built, I'm eager to make nurturing these relationships my ongoing priority for the coming year.

Romance ❤️
Score: 7/10

Figuring out how to score this was a bit tricky. My partner and I spend a significant amount of time together since we both work from home and share various activities. It's a unique dynamic, and I find it challenging to put a numerical value on it.

Personal growth 🪴
Score: 9/10

Throughout this year, I experienced significant personal growth. Being pregnant and having a baby has taught me how to be kind towards others but most importantly, towards myself. I learned how to slow down, appreciate life's small joys, and embrace the present. Reflecting on these changes, I feel a deep sense of pride in the person I've become in 2023.

Fun and recreation 🎡
Score: 9/10

This year, I've been on the move quite a bit (New York, Bruges, Italy x2, Bali, San Francisco) doing things that genuinely make me happy, all without feeling any unnecessary pressure. I'd probably give it an 9 because, you know, there's still a bunch of things I've got on my list to try out in the new year. Can't wait for what's next!

Physical environment 🏡
Score: 7/10

Last year, after settling into my new home last year, I spent a lot of time (and money) in making it truly mine. This year, it's been all about settling and enjoying the environment I built in 2022.

Business/career 👩‍💻
Score: 5/10

Unfortunately, my career score is on the lower side this year. Pregnancy came with its challenges, and it's been tough to stay motivated at work, especially knowing I'll be leaving my current job after giving birth. It's not that I'm disappointed, but I wouldn't say I'm proud of myself either. I could have done more at work and personal projects but sometimes these things need to take a back seat.

Finances 💰
Score: 9/10

I'm not giving it a perfect 10/10 because I wanted to get smarter with my investments, not just play it safe in my savings. Sure, I've invested more into stocks and started checking out real estate, but I’m still far from hitting my investment goals. Now, on the flip side, I saved up a decent chunk of change and hit my goal of saving six figures before turning 30. Might not be a big deal for everyone, but for me, it's a pretty awesome accomplishment!

Health 🧘‍♀️
Score: 5/10

Unfortunately, this is another one of those low scores. Both my mental and physical health have taken a hit this year, and it's been a bit of a struggle. However, I'm determined to turn this around and improve the score in the new year. Here's to a fresh start and prioritising my well-being.

Have you ever taken on this assessment yourself? If so, I'd love to hear how it went for you and what kind of results you came up with!

Let’s get to know each other

If you enjoyed today's newsletter, please share it with a friend in the design community. For more support, book a 1:1 coaching session with me.

I'm Sara, a designer and content creator, on a mission to help fellow designers like you level up their design skills and increase their worth. Want to connect? Simply reply to this email. 💌

Join the conversation

or to participate.