• UX diaries
  • Posts
  • A peek into my video editing process

A peek into my video editing process

Premier Pro + Photoshop

Hey reader,

So, you're curious about how I edit my YouTube videos, and I'm really excited to share my process with you in this newsletter.

Step 1: Create a new folder

I kick things off by duplicating a folder that already contains a Premier Pro file set up for editing. Inside, there are empty folders ready for video files, audio files, screen recordings, graphics, and more. After that, I give the folder a name and drag all the files into their respective places.

Step 2: Edit and synchronise

Moving on, I open up Premier Pro and drop those folders right in. Now it's time to dive into the editing! Usually, I begin by adding all the video clips and then sync them up with the audio from OBS. This part can be a bit of a grind, so I like to have some music playing in the background while I work my magic. Once I've got the main components (video clips and audio) in sync, I add in other elements like b-roll, screen recordings (if it's a tutorial), and graphics or silly memes.

Step 3: Client shoutout

If I'm collaborating with a brand, I make sure to include their video shoutout right at the beginning of the video. I've got a whole process for this that I could share in another newsletter if you're interested. Working with clients can sometimes make the video process longer due to back and forth and reviews. Still, it's a great way to stay committed, learn about new design tools, and reinvest the earnings into my videos.

Step 4: Review and export

Once I'm happy with the video, it's time to export it using these custom settings that I’ve found on this video to ensure top-notch quality. This exporting process can take a bit, so I usually let it run in the background while I tackle something else.

Step 5: Thumbnail Creation

Now, when it comes to thumbnails, I've got a special template I use to streamline the process. I turn to Photoshop for this task. I've got a collection of images that I keep reusing to avoid creating new ones for each video.

Step 6: Upload on YouTube

Last but not least, I upload the video on YouTube, give it a catchy title, descriptions, and all that good stuff, and schedule it to go live.

Takeaways

Running a one-person business can definitely have its challenges, but you know what? I absolutely love the entire journey – from the birth of an idea to reading your comments. It's a lengthy process that demands a wide range of skills, from speaking confidently in front of the camera to adding that extra sparkle through video editing to keep things engaging.

Have you ever considered launching your own YouTube channel? If the answer is yes, I hope you found this newsletter helpful.

Let’s get to know each other

If you enjoyed today's newsletter, please share it with a friend in the design community. For more support, book a 1:1 coaching session with me.

I'm Sara, a designer and content creator, on a mission to help fellow designers like you level up their design skills and increase their worth. Want to connect? Simply reply to this email. 💌

Join the conversation

or to participate.