• UX diaries
  • Posts
  • My simple filming process for YouTube videos

My simple filming process for YouTube videos

It's really simple!

Hey reader,

I wanted to share a little story from last weekend. I set myself quite an ambitious goal – film and edit three YouTube videos in just two days, complete with sponsor shoutouts. When you're a content creator juggling a full-time job, your weekends often become your only shot at making it work, even if it means working on your only days off. Yes, it sucks!

Now, you might be wondering why I tried to squeeze everything into two days. Well, it's simply because I tend to procrastinate. The weather has been absolutely fabulous in the UK this month, and the thought of spending the entire weekend in my office (which has now become my guest room too) was hard to swallow.

But I don't have a secret — I simply make things work. Through years of trial and error I've come to realise the power of having a simple yet effective system in place. So, in this newsletter, I want to share how I make things work (aka my secret).

Step 1: Define your talking points

About a week before filming day, I jot down the script for my videos, or at least make a list of key points I wanna cover. This usually happens around a week ahead or sometimes just a few days before the big filming day. I don't stop there, though. I like to talk through that script and keep polishing it until it feels just right. This really comes in handy, especially when you're not feeling super high-energy on filming day. With that well-practiced script in your pocket, you can roll with the flow and say what you need to without missing a beat.

Step 2: Prepare your environment

The day before filming day, I make sure my camera is charging, the microphone is connected, there's plenty of memory on my card for all the footage, and the teleprompter doesn’t have my greasy fingerprints. It's important to check all these things beforehand so that on filming day, you can stay focused on the content without the added pressure of troubleshooting. Also, make sure your filming setup is in order. I actually need to twist my desk slightly for better lighting and tidy up my background.

Step 3: Become your production studio

Here are the steps I take before hitting the record button:

  • Ensure the camera is charging and securely mounted on the teleprompter.

  • Display my script on the screen, making it easy to copy and paste content from Notion to my teleprompter app.

  • Verify that the external microphone is connected to OBS.

  • Establish a backup plan for audio recording.

  • Make sure there aren’t weird objects in the background.

  • Adjust the lighting; not too harsh, not too dim.

Step 4: Keep focus and momentum

When I'm in front of the camera, it's pretty normal to slip up here and there. So, when I need a do-over, I simply clap. That way, when I'm in the editing mode, I've got a clear signal for where to make cuts. Plus, I try my best to pack as much into each clip as I can, making life easier during post-production. My scripts are neatly divided into sections, so I always know how many clips and audio files I need for each video.

And here's my filming checklist:

  • Make sure I'm wearing a warm smile and sound relaxed.

  • Double-check that the camera is actually recording (never give it for granted).

  • Confirm that OBS is capturing my audio.

In the next newsletter, we’ll dive deep into my post-production process. I'll be sharing real footage, showing how I keep my files organised, and much more. So, don't forget to keep an eye on your inbox – you won't want to miss it!

Let’s get to know each other

If you enjoyed today's newsletter, please share it with a friend in the design community. For more support, book a 1:1 coaching session with me.

I'm Sara, a designer and content creator, on a mission to help fellow designers like you level up their design skills and increase their worth. Want to connect? Simply reply to this email. 💌

Join the conversation

or to participate.